2 Days Before Christmas

No books today!

Instead, I am going to tell a favorite Christmas story.

In 1988, my husband asked me what I wanted or needed for Christmas.

I am a simple person and I don’t need or want much of anything.  I thought about what to say to him and this is what I said: “I want a Christmas Sock stuffed full of fruits, nuts, and candy just like when I was a kid on Christmas morn.”

I didn’t think much about it in the coming days, however, I should have known better.

You see, the first Christmas we spent together after meeting, he asked me the same thing and my response was: “I want a red jeep, a million dollars, and a trip around the world for two.”

On Christmas day, I got exactly what I asked for, but not in my way of thinking, yet it was funny.

monopoly-money2I got a red plastic toy jeep that was parked in the driveway between two vehicles.  I got a million dollars of Monopoly Game money and I got my trip around the world for two by him placing a world globe in the middle of the living room floor and walking me around it.

So, you see.  I really should have seen what was coming.

76881450e85d781040c3eebd9b0d8b04mixedchristmasnutsOn Christmas morn, 1988, I got up and there on the back of a chair in the dining room was one of my hubby’s sock stuffed full of fruit, nuts, and candies–all from my childhood: apples, oranges, grapefruit, bananas, English walnuts, hazelnuts, etc. and the ribbon Christmas candy, etc.

It really did bring back my childhood memories and tears flooded my eyes.

So, this year, when you hang your stocking with care, ask your parents and/or grandparents what did they receive in their stockings on Christmas morn.

One thing is for sure, it was probably nothing electronic!

Enjoy yourself today and this evening and on Christmas Eve, don’t rush around like a chicken with its head cut off.  Instead, enjoy your family and/or friends, eat what you want (in moderation), and laugh.

And if you are a church going person, go to church and enjoy the candlelight service.

Wishing Peace to Everyone!

Merry Christmas!

Cindy Harris

P. S.  Don’t forget to leave a comment so you can be entered into my giveaway of a $25 Amazon Gift Card.  Drawing to take place on January 7th.

free-christmas-card-clipart-6

 

1 Comment

Filed under Christmas, family relationship, Genre, Holidays, Memoir, Non-Fiction

One response to “2 Days Before Christmas

  1. No red felt Christmas stocking for me. My sister and I hung real long brown stockings. The contents were minimal, a few nuts, a few pieces of hard candy, a piece of fruit. Although happy to be a Midwesterner, my earliest childhood was in California, where I learned to favor oranges over all other fruits. Oranges in December in the Midwest were always costly. Christmas morning I could identify by feel what was in my stocking — always a few nuts (which were never readily edible, had to find a hammer to crack the shells), five or six pieces of hard candy (which, ungrateful child that I was I never liked), and a piece of fruit. Although both are round, I always knew if I had been fortunate enough to receive a precious orange, or an everyday, ho-hum apple. To this day I do not like apples.

    Liked by 1 person