That Blank Page

I write my work out in long hand then go back and type out the draft.

The worse thing for me is seeing that “blank page.”  The page that has no words and I can’t find the words to write down.  This is

No mattewriting_tabletr how you do your writing, at one point or another you will face “writer’s block.”

If writer’s block shows up while I am writing,  I write down “TBD” and continue writing whatever comes into my head. Eventually I get back on track and continue with the story.

A friend of mine writes “TK” and continues.

At times I get tired of writing “TBD” every few words.

That is a sign for me that I need a break for the day or a few days.

During my break time, I will do lots of brainstorming and asking “what if,” read a book, watch a movie, go for a walk, etc., to help me find additional inspiration to continue with the story.

Eventually, an idea will come to me and I get back to writing.

 

 

“writing about a writer’s block is better than not writing at all”
Charles Bukowski, The Last Night of the Earth Poems

 

 

Comments Off on That Blank Page

Filed under Authors, Writing

Comments are closed.