The Grateful Games leads to memories of Bogie and Bacall

My husband and I were playing the “Grateful Game.”

Never played it?

The game goes like this:  one starts with “I am grateful for (fill in the blank)” and then the other goes.  Do this until you cannot think of anything more to be grateful for.  We usually play this on our way to our 40 hour week job as we have a 30-35 minute commute.

At the end of our game on Thursday (March 28, 2013) morning, we simultaneously said “We have it all” and I continued with “Like Bogie and Bacall.”  My husband smiled because he knew what I meant.

Do you know what I mean when I say “Like Bogie and Bacall”?

If not, you are probably younger than 40 years old.

bogie weddingBogie and Bacall refers to Humphrey Bogart and Lauren Bacall.

When the name Humphrey Bogart comes up, I automatically think of the movie “The African Queen.”  And Lauren Bacall is the legendary actress who was married to Bogie.

Bogart died in 1957 from cancer.  Bacall is still alive.  They had it all – a real love of life and each other.  That is what my husband and I have – a love for each other that at times seems bigger than life itself.  We are the best of friends and greatly enjoy each others company.

So, what does Bogie and Bacall have to do with writing?

For me it brings to light love and life and it brings back old memories and this song –  Key Largo.

For you who are reading this blog, perhaps learning about Bogie and Bacall will help charge the grey cells and inspire you to write something about them.  Or perhaps one of their movies will inspire the writer inside to come out and play with words that will create a masterpiece, just like Bogie and Bacall.

These photos of Bogie and Bacall were taken from Google Images.

55281_lauren_bacall3BogieBogie1Bogie2lauren bacall1lauren

3 Comments

Filed under Movies, Romance, Songs, Videos, Writing

3 responses to “The Grateful Games leads to memories of Bogie and Bacall

  1. dezertsuz

    They were amazing! I love Key Largo, too.

    Like