Me Before You by JoJo Moyes

Me Before YouJoJo MoyesBritish author, JoJo Moyes is now doing book tours here in the United States.  She will be at Watermark Bookstore in Wichita, Kansas tomorrow, Tuesday, January 8, 2013.  For me, she is so near, yet so far away.

I entered a Twitter contest and won an Advance Reading Copy of Me Before You.  It was actually mailed to my home!

Even though I have an enormous reading list, I had to put the book I was reading aside to read this one.  And I am not sorry that I did.

JoJo Moyes’ writing grabbed my heart strings and pulled me right into the story.  It is a story that creates a wide range of emotions, so before you start reading grab that box of Kleenex, Puffs, whatever your brand and keep it by your side.  You will need it.

While reading the story and as it progressed I kept thinking about another athletic person who faced a devastating accident: skier Jill Kinmont.  Some of you may remember her story as The Other Side of the Mountain.  This story drew attention to the plight of  paraplegics and quadriplegics.

Moyes must have done an extreme amount of research on quadriplegics as the story is loaded with the detail care a quadriplegic needs.  I knew some of the basic care needs, but had never heard the care about respiratory problems and high fevers.

Me Before You deals with a highly controversial issue here in the United States.  The same issue that Jack Kevorkian fought for and was imprisoned for: the right to die.  We do it to our pets all the time, yet when it comes to people the topic is taboo/prohibited.

Other issues the book deals with is the lifestyle differences between the rich and the poor.  The rich family lives in the Castle and the poor only a short distance away. Then there is the issue of education and culture.  While the rich are well traveled, the poor never leaves the village where they are raised.  And there is so much more to the book, such as: do you remember the first movie you watched with sub-titles?

I would like to continue, however, I do not want to spoil the story for you.

I rate the book at 5 stars.

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes love stories, yet this is not the typical romance novel.

It is my hope that some film producer will read this book and realize that it would make a wonderful tear-jerking movie.

1 Comment

Filed under Authors, Book Reviews, Books, e-books, Movies

One response to “Me Before You by JoJo Moyes

  1. Pingback: Today I am drinking to Charles Dickens « blacklilackitty