Susan Sweenie, books will open up a whole new world

Q:  What is your name?

A:  Susan Sweenie

Q:  What country do you live in?

A:  USA

Q:   What is the title of your current book?

A:  “Girls Don’t Take Karate”

Q:  What holidays do you celebrate during this time of the year? Which one is your favorite and why?

A:  My family celebrates Christmas and it is my absolute favorite time of the year. We live in New England I love the winter weather (snow) and enjoy Christmas because of the break from school and work and the time I get to spend with my family.

Q:  What colors would you use to describe the holiday season?

A:  Gold and silver would be my choice because they are classic and add a little sparkle to anything.

Q:  What is your favorite holiday movie & song?

A:  Favorite holiday movie is National Lampoon’s Christmas vacation because it is hilarious.  My favorite song is “Silent Night”, a true classic.

Q: What is your favorite holiday book?

A:  Twas the Night Before Christmas is a favorite in my home. One of our family traditions is to read it on Christmas Eve. It gets the children very excited for Christmas morning.

Q: What do you enjoy most/least about the holiday season?

A: The one thing I dislike about the holiday season is how busy the stores are. I do not enjoy the long lines and people pushing and shoving just to get a deal. Because of this, I tend to do more and more online shopping each year.

Q: If you were given a superpower, as a gift for one day, what would it be and what would you do?

A:  I would read minds. I would love to know what my husband is really thinking.

Q: Do you call the jolly old fat man – Santa Claus, St. Nick, Kris Kringle, or something else? If something else, what do you call him?

A:  In our home, we call him Santa…

Q: If Santa was real and lived at the North Pole, would you want to visit and why?

A:  Ever since I was a child, I have dreamt of this.  I envision the North Pole being a magical place – similar to the movie the “Polar Express” or the movie “Elf” and if I visited, I would probably never want to leave. Christmas is magical….it brings people together like no other holiday can.

Q: If time and money were no problem, where would you go and what would you do during this holiday season?

A:  I would stay right at home with my family, enjoying all of our family traditions.  Christmas has always been very special to me and is the highlight of the year.  In addition to the decorating, the making of cookies and countless parties, I enjoy the cards from friends and family and the excitement in the eyes of my children each year.  I named my first born Holly for a reason…

Q: What message would you like to send to those reading this blog?

A:  Books will open up a whole new world to your children.  In this modern day world, we are so caught up with technology and television or sports and we forget about the basics.  Books bring us back to those basics by distracting us from our everyday business, giving us a chance to explore our imaginations and even learn something about ourselves along the way.  I wrote my book for 2 reasons. First, I wanted to show my two daughters that you can do anything you set your mind to. Publishing a book was always a dream of mine and I was able to show my girls that with a little hard work, anything is possible. Second, I saw a lack of children’s books focusing on empowering girls and I wanted to write a book that sent a message to young girls that they can do anything that boys can do while encouraging them to try something different.

Comments Off on Susan Sweenie, books will open up a whole new world

Filed under Authors, Book Reviews, Holidays, Movies

Comments are closed.