Susan Ebbers shares some holiday cheer

Q: What is your name?

A:  Susan Ebbers

Q: What country do you live in?

A:  The United States

Q:  What is the title of your current book?

A:   Jamie’s Journey: The Savannah

 

 

 

 

Q:   What holidays do you celebrate during this time of the year?  Which one is your favorite and why?

A:  Wow. I love the entire extended season, from Halloween to New Year’s Day.  I love the scents and sounds of autumn – especially the colored leaves! I love decorating the house with bright pumpkins and greeting those totally adorable tricksters who come knocking. But I enjoy all the winter festivities, too – and it all begins with my favorite programs, The Grinch Who Stole Christmas and A Christmas Carol. Like a child, I never grow tired of singing Christmas carols and lighting up the tree!  I fill the house with candles and my safety-minded husband comes along behind me, reducing the count by half.  I just love the lights of the Christmas season. I love the readings from Luke and the message of the angels, Peace on Earth, Good Will to All.  If you make me choose, I would go with Christmas.

Q:  What colors would you use to describe the holiday season?

A:  A collage of gold, green, red, silver, and white.

Q:  What is your favorite holiday movie & song?

A:  Movie: A Christmas Carol; Song:  We Need a Little Christmas from the Broadway musical Mame (especially the rendition by Angela Lansbury)

Q:   What is your favorite holiday book?

A:   The Grinch Who Stole Christmas, by Dr. Seuss

Q:  What do you enjoy most/least about the holiday season?

A: I  love to give gifts, but I am not crazy about the three-hour unwrapping ceremony. It makes me a bit sad to see children actually get tuckered out from opening gifts. Once, a toddler fell asleep right in the midst of the wrapping paper.

Q:  If you were given a superpower, as a gift for one day, what would it be and what would you do?

A:  I’d be some kind of Angel of Light, tending to the inner candle. Especially in cases where life has nearly suffocated the spirit, I’d appear while people are sleeping, kindling the flames of hope and especially love, so that everyone wakes up feeling renewed.

Q:   Do you call the jolly old fat man – Santa Claus, St. Nick, Kris Kringle, or something else?  If something else, what do you call him?

A:   Santa, just Santa, usually, but sometimes St. Nick.

Q:   If Santa was real and lived at the North Pole, would you want to visit and why?

A:   Oh, goodness, yes!! It would be like a pilgrimage. I would have to head North at least once, just to hear Santa’s jolliest belly laugh and watch the reindeer practice for the big night.

Q:   If time and money were no problem, where would you go and what would you do during this holiday season?

A:   I’d go to Africa, to the Serengeti. I’ve always longed to see zebras, lions, and elephants. In my story, Jamie is living my dream. Some day. Until then, I watch every National Geographic special I can find.

Q:   What message would you like to send to those reading this blog?

A:   Reach out to the lonely. Visit a nursing home or pay a friendly call on an elderly neighbor. Loneliness is hard to bear over the holidays, when the lights are the brightest and everyone else is making merry. Take along a favorite children’s book to read together. Sharing a beloved book is like sharing a bit of your soul.

9 Comments

Filed under Authors, Books, Holidays, Movies

9 responses to “Susan Ebbers shares some holiday cheer

  1. Susan Ebbers

    Thank you all for the kind words! Merry Christmas!

    Like

  2. Fran Schmidt

    I love your spontaneity, enthusiasm, and creativity for whatever you are doing! I can just feel the sparkle flowing across the air waves! Thanks for sending that great description of Christmas my way! Have a holly jolly holy day! Keep those great books coming! God’s blessings, Franny

    Like

  3. Thanks for the interview. Merry Christmas Dr. Ebbers!!

    Like

  4. You are so welcome. Hope that you all will start following this blog and the blogs of those I have interviewed and those in the future.

    Thanks for visiting.

    Like

  5. Susan Ebbers

    Thank you, Black Lilac Kitty, and happy holidays to you all!

    Like

  6. mustardgreen

    Thanks for the holiday cheer!

    Like