Author Charlene Newcomb wishes everyone peace

Q:  What is your name?

A:  Charlene Newcomb, though my friends call me Char.

Q:  What country do you live in?

A:  USA

Q:  What is the title of your current book?

A:  Keeping the Family Peace – it’s my debut novel, to be published in December.

Q:  What holidays do you celebrate during this time of the year?  Which one is your favorite and why?

A:  Thanksgiving, Christmas & New Year’s. I have many wonderful memories of Christmas going back to my childhood back in South Carolina and they all revolve around being with family and friends.

Q:  What colors would you use to describe the holiday season?

A:  Green! With blues and reds coming in second.

Q:  What is your favorite holiday movie & song?

A:  White Christmas. I tear up every time I watch it. Song? That’s a toughie. “Winter Wonderland” and “The Christmas Song” are two of my favorites. I also love “Angels We Have Heard on High” and the “Hallelujah Chorus” and… I could go on & on…

Q:  What is your favorite holiday book?

A:  Hm… The Night Before Christmas by Clement Moore; or A Charlie Brown Christmas by Charles Schultz.

Q:  What do you enjoy most/least about the holiday season?

A:  It starts to early and there is far too much advertising! I love to see the lights on Christmas trees and to smell fresh pine.

Q:  If you were given a superpower, as a gift for one day, what would it be and what would you do?

A:  Well…you know about my love of Star Wars. I’d have to say I’d want the Force. 🙂  I’d be a good Jedi, of course, and use my power to bring world peace. And since the Force will be with you always, I’d have it for more than a day!

Q:  Do you call the jolly old fat man – Santa Claus, St. Nick, Kris Kringle, or something else?  If something else, what do you call him?

A:  He’s been Santa Claus in my book, though I did like Kris Kringle in Miracle on 34th Street.

Q:  If Santa was real and lived at the North Pole, would you want to visit and why?

A:  Seeing Santa would take away the magic, wouldn’t it? I’ll just stare at the stars in the night sky and dream.

Q:  If time and money were no problem, where would you go and what would you do during this holiday season?

A:  I’d take all my children & their significant others to Italy to see the sights and track down long-lost relatives.

Q:  What message would you like to send to those reading this blog?

A:  I’d love for your readers to stop by my blog! And, because it’s the holiday season, I wish them all good health, good company, and peace.

Follow Char on Twitter

About Keeping the Family Peace

Deprived of his father’s love and approval growing up, a history scholar must convince his aging father to reveal family secrets. The revelations will either tear them apart or allow him to become the man his father was never able to be.

A son searching for answers. A father who won’t talk. A family rocked to its very core.

Nick Peace knows more about the Middle Ages than about his own family history. His father Jack, a retired Navy captain, wants to keep the past buried. Nick struggles with his own desire to dig it up, though he’s certain it holds the secrets to the distance between them. Nick’s sisters aren’t much help – they have secrets of their own. The rift between father and son grows wider but as tragedy strikes the family, and the girls’ secrets come to light, Jack’s defenses begin to crumble.

Join the family Peace as they gather to celebrate – or mourn – life changing events…and underlying tensions reveal the secrets that could tear them apart.

A mainstream contemporary family saga, coming (with a bit of luck) in your Christmas stocking, December 2012.

1 Comment

Filed under Authors, Books, e-books, Holidays, Movies, Writing

One response to “Author Charlene Newcomb wishes everyone peace

  1. Pingback: Walks on the Blog Side… | The Many Worlds of Char….