Dave Morgan, no regrets

Q:  What is your name?

A:  Dave Morgan

Q:   What country do you live in?

A:  USA – will continue to do so unless Romney is elected, dies, and what’s his name take’s over. (Maybe not – perhaps I’m just going for a laugh?)

Q:   What is the title of your current book?

A:  Afterwords: 75 Everyday People Answer 15 Common Questions About the Afterlife

Q:   What holidays do you celebrate during this time of the year?  Which one is your favorite and why?

A:  Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year’s Eve. Christmas is probably top of the list, especially when I have something special for one or more of the children in my life.

Q:   What colors would you use to describe the holiday season?

A:  White, Silver, Violet, Red, and Green, and Gray (from exhaustion).

Q:   What is your favorite holiday movie & song?

A:  Movie: It’s a Wonderful Life (Jimmy Stewart is timeless, I still have a crush on Donna Reed, and Clarence, the angel, is at once, irresistibly goofy, persuasive and comforting.  Song: An holiday standard sung by Tony Bennett or Nat King Cole.

Q:   What is your favorite holiday book?

A:  I was such an agreeable tyke that Dennis the Menace gave some voice to my shadowy, greedy side. So my book isn’t a book, it’s a cartoon that still makes me chuckle 55 years later. In the frame, Dennis is up to his eyeballs in a mountain of gifts, with a scowl on his face no less. The caption reads, “Is this all?”

Q:   What do you enjoy most/least about the holiday season?

A:  Most: Gatherings of friends and family Least: Ever-increasing commercialization of the season.

Q:   If you were given a superpower, as a gift for one day, what would it be and what would you do?

A:  When I was a kid, I was unnaturally jealous of Aladdin and his lamp, and thought he was really dumb not to ask for unlimited wishes. Simple logic! Nobody told him he couldn’t, so why not? My super name would be “The Overlord” and the first two things I would deem to myself would be an limited term and the inability to feel long-term regret for the stupid mistakes I would surely make trying to fix this problematic world.

Q:   Do you call the jolly old fat man – Santa Claus, St. Nick, Kris Kringle, or something else?  If something else, what do you call him?

A:  In a good mood: Santa Claus.  In a bad mood: Archetype of Unmet Expectations.

Q:   If Santa was real and lived at the North Pole, would you want to visit and why?

A:  I hate it when my heroes fall, so I think I’d rather stay home and imagine him as I did when I was young. I mean, what if he turned out to be a crotchety old guy with tobacco stains on his beard and tunic, abusing the power he held over all those little elves?

Q:  If time and money were no problem, where would you go and what would you do during this holiday season?

A:  I’d be torn between two possibilities: 1. My parents are quite elderly and frail, but perhaps I could find some extravagance that they’d enjoy. 2. I have a passion for encouraging a conversation about human consciousness, in particular what lies beyond death. It would be fun to buy a bunch of infomercial time and develop the material to promote the conversation.

Q:   What message would you like to send to those reading this blog?

A:  Pretend you’ve died and are thoroughly enjoying your afterlife. However, you do have one big regret from your recent human experience.  My message to readers is this: go make sure that doesn’t happen. (Not the being dead part –  you’ll enjoy that. Just make sure you take care of the regret part while you still can.)

**Since the election has passed, we think it is safe to say that Dave will continue to live in the USA.**

Comments Off on Dave Morgan, no regrets

Filed under Authors, Books, e-books, Holidays, Videos

Comments are closed.