Holiday Fun with Authors

Starting tomorrow, Thursday, November 8, 2012 through January 12, 2013, some of my blogs will be holiday questions answered by awesome authors, you may or may not know.

I will kick off the Holiday Fun by answering the questions myself.

Q:  What is your name?

A:  Cynthia Tussey-Harris

Q:  What country do you live in?

A:  The United States.

Q:  What is the title of your current book?

A:  I co-authored, Hometown Appetites: The Story of Clementine Paddleford, the Forgotten Food Writer Who Chronicled How America Ate, (NY: Gotham), 2008.  I have three works in progress:  a mystery novel; a biography; and a compilation of WWII letters.

Q:  What holidays do you celebrate during this time of the year?  Which one is your favorite and why?

A:  Veterans Day, Thanksgiving, Saint Nicholas Day, Christmas Day, New Year’s Day, and Twelfth Night.  I am not sure that I have a favorite.  I enjoy Veterans Day because I am a veteran – I was a member of the Women’s Army Corps known as the WACS until it was integrated with the men’s army in 1978.  We have a tradition on Thanksgiving where the whole family goes to the movies.  I started celebrating Saint Nicholas Day, December 6, when we lived in Germany.  When our son was small, my husband and I stayed up most of Christmas Eve putting up the tree, decorating and wrapping presents, so our son knew that Santa Claus never forgot about him, even if he got a lump of coal in his shoe on Saint Nicholas Day 🙂 New Year’s Eve I usually stay up late and watch the dropping of the ball in Times Square on the television.  Our son was born on the Twelfth Night so I have two reason to celebrate that day.

Q:  What colors would you use to describe the holiday season?

A: Red, Green, Silver, Gold and White.

Q:  What is your favorite holiday movie & song?

A:  Movie – It’s a Wonderful Life with Jimmy Stewart.  Song: It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year.

Q:  What is your favorite holiday book?

A:  I have so many.  The one that stands out the most is Yes, Virginia There Is A Santa Claus because “Pappa says that if it is written in the Sun, it is so.”

Q:  What do you enjoy most/least about the holiday season?

A:  Most:  I love the atmosphere.  Everyone seems to be full of cheer and happy.  Least:  The crowds, commercialization of the holiday season, and the Bah Humbugs.

Q:  If you were given a superpower, as a gift for one day, what would it be and what would you do?

A:  Oh, it would be so nice to have several superpowers.  If I could only have one, it would have to be the power to heal all things.

Q:  Do you call the jolly old fat man – Santa Claus, St. Nick, Kris Kringle, or something else?  If something else, what do you call him?

A:  It depends on the situation.  If I am speaking with one of my friends from Holland or Germany I may refer to him as Kris Kringle.  Other time I say Santa, Santa Claus, or St. Nick.

Q:  If Santa was real and lived at the North Pole, would you want to visit and why?

A:  Yes, I would want to visit.  I want to have hot chocolate with Mrs. Claus and all the elves.  And I want to see the Reindeer.  I heard that it is the female reindeer that has antlers during this time of year.  So, I am thinking that is how Santa Claus gets around the world in one night: the females have him on a tight schedule 🙂

Q:  If time and money were no problem, where would you go and what would you do during this holiday season?

A:  I would travel around the world and negotiate peace agreements in all war torn spots.  Then I would visit all the troops fighting throughout the world and give them the best holiday ever.

Q:  What message would you like to send to those reading this blog?

A:  It is foolish of me to think that some world leader with power was reading this blog, but I am going to pretend that they are and I will say to them and all the others:

Put aside your differences, make the compromises needed, stop being greedy (take a page out of the working manual of Qatar), strive for peace agreements throughout the world, and be kind to one another.

On another note – don’t take life too seriously.  Make time to laugh at yourself and laugh with others because you never know when your last laugh will be.

Happy Holidays Everyone!

Tomorrow, Thursday, November 8, 2012 – meet Curt Rude, a former highly decorated police officer and graduate of the FBI National Academy and now author.

Comments Off on Holiday Fun with Authors

Filed under Authors, Books, Holidays

Comments are closed.