The Art of My Life by Ann Lee Miller–Will she be another Grace Livingston Hill?

The Art of My Life by Ann Lee Miller

The Art of My Life by Ann Lee Miller reminded me of books by Christian Romance author, Grace Livingston Hill.  Like Hill, Miller’s story deals with real problems that readers face everyday.

Miller uses all the senses to describe this tossed salad called life for the young characters  who have problems with marijuana addiction, abandonment issues, spending time in jail, being hijacked and running from themselves.  Drizzle this with the dreams of owning one’s business, passion, love, and forgiveness and you find a story of which shows the characters are typical twenty-something young men (Cal and Fish) and women (Aly and Missy) who are trying to find their true path in this world.

Miller’s writing flows smoothly and keeps the reader on edge from one suspenseful event to another.  A Christian Romance, The Art of My Life lets the reader see how “free will” plays a role in the life of individuals.  It also shows how those choices can either steer a person to the starboard side or put them at the helm.  And it shows, with God, anything is possible.

This book has two wonderful bonuses.  Miller begins each chapter with a quote from Aly’s blog, a real blog that showcases the art work of her friends and art work that could be Cal’s if one imagined it so. Miller also included a glossary of sailing terms at the beginning of the book for those who are not familiar with sailing the deep blue sea.

I give this book 5 stars.

I would recommend The Art of My Life for anyone looking for a fresh romance novel to read.

4 Comments

Filed under Authors, Book Reviews

4 responses to “The Art of My Life by Ann Lee Miller–Will she be another Grace Livingston Hill?

  1. Thanks for a wonderful review! 🙂

    Like

  2. I’ll add this book to my list of must reads.

    Like